Business Licenses


Businesses in Tennessee with taxable receipts over $3,000 are required by law to get a business license. If your business has taxable receipts between $3,000 and $9,999 you need a minimal activity license, and those whose taxable receipts are $10K or above must get a standard business license. Prior to opening a business within the City of Loudon the owner is required to obtain a business license from the City of Loudon (and also from the Loudon County Clerk (865) 458-2726). The business must register with the City of Loudon. An application must be completed and submitted along with a $15 registration fee to the Customer Service Center or mailed to: City of Loudon; 2480 Highway 72 N; Loudon, TN  37774.


Registration can also be done online with the Tennessee Department of Revenue, but the $15 application fee must be submitted to the City of Loudon in order to complete the transaction and receive a license. Print the confirmation and submit a copy with the $15 fee.

At the end of the fiscal year for a business, the taxes must be calculated online with the Tennessee Department of Revenue and paid to them before the expiration date on the license. Upon notification from the Tennessee Department of Revenue that the taxes have been paid, the City of Loudon will issue and mail a license to mailing address on file.

For more information visit the Tennessee Department of Revenue or call Taxpayer Services at 800-342-1003.

  • Contractors – Business License - In State If a contractor domiciled in the State of Tennessee does $50,000 or more of sales in the city limits of the City of Loudon during the business’s fiscal year, the contractor must get a business license from the City of Loudon. See the above information on how to apply for a business license.
  • Contractors – Business License - Out of State Out of state contractors with $10,000 or more in sales during their fiscal year, must get a business license from the City of Loudon. Out of state contractors with less than $10,000 in sales must contact the Tennessee Department of Revenue directly at 800-342-1003.
  • Subcontractors The same rules listed above apply to subcontractors.In order to take the deduction for subcontractors on the business tax return, the business license number or contractor number must be included.